Orria is a village strongly anchored to its history, and it has wisely preserved its town centre. Deserve mention: Via Capo Orria, Vico Grotta, Via Belvedere, Via Tempa, Corso Umberto I and Via Marchesano, characterized by arches, fountains, cobblestone streets and several buildings, interesting from an historical-cultural point of view.
The same care has been given to religious buildings: the Church of Saint Felix Martyr, built around 1500, dedicated to the patron Saint solemnly celebrated twice a year: on January 14th and on the second Sunday of August. The ancient chapel of Our Lady of Graces, situated in Piazza della Vittoria and, on the hill above the village, the Shrine dedicated to Santa Domenica Martyr, celebrated on July 7th.
Since 1997, it is possible to visit a fascinating Museum of the peasant culture, housed
in the former Town Hall (formerly Casa Pinto). In its rooms, you can admire old objects and tools used in the everyday life.
Local artisans are numerous. Orria’s stonemasons have been famous for decades (important figures were Carmine Astore and Antonio Santoro)
Piano Vetralre, murals’ town (see details)
The hamlet Casino Lebano, 8 kilometres from the town, with its approximately 90 residents
is the smallest village of the municipality of Orria. Very picturesque, with an altitude of roughly 30 m above sea level, located on the right bank of the Fiumara (Gioi’s torrent), a couple of kilometers from Omignano Scalo. It is like a real door, for visitors from the South. In 1930s only few families lived here, four of which lived in the "Casino" (country house) owned by Avv. Pasquale Lebano, son of Don Rosario Lebano (that gave the name to the hamlet).
In 1840, Rosario and his brother Miccaro, won at an auction (held in Salento) a woodland large more than 100 hectares in the area where is currently located Casino Lebano.
After a few years, the two brothers divided the possessions: the territory of Sessa Cilento and Santa Lucia was assigned to Miccaro, while the land sites in the municipality of Orria, in località "Piana dei Marri", passed into the exclusive property of Rosario. The latter asked the Caporale, a family from Sessa Cilento (his hometown), to deforest and cultivate his lands.
The Caporale, already tenant farmers of the Lebano, with their particular skills and expertise organized , in a few years, a real farm with a remarkable production capacity of both farm produce and livestock.
Casino Lebano still today preserve the vocation for quality agriculture. Since the early 1900 up to 1944, the year of his death, the farm was entrusted to Avv. Pasquale Lebano, son of Don Rosario, and it was a flourishing period. The heirs of Avv. Lebano decided, after World War II, to sell the farm to the tenant farmers. So, what has been a kind of "Fazenda", was finally dismembered in so many plots, and the new owners, although continued cultivating the land, also built up several houses, raising in the hamlet as we know it.
From € 450,00
per 7gg / appartamento
From € nd.
From € 40,00
B&B / a pers.
From € 30,00
B&B / a pers.